Charli Persip Leader Entry
by Michael Fitzgerald

Generated on Sun, Oct 02, 2011

Date: April 2, 1960
Location: New York City
Label: Bethlehem

Charli Persip (ldr), Roland Alexander (ts), Marcus Belgrave, Freddie Hubbard (t), Ronnie Mathews (p), Ron Carter (b), Charli Persip (d)

a. 6574    Soul March - 7:49  (Roland Alexander)
b. 6575    Right Down Front - 5:20  (Sara Cassey)
c.     Sevens - 6:38  (Roland Alexander)
d.     The Song Is You - 6:41  (Jerome Kern, Oscar Hammerstein II)
e.     The Champ - 9:36  (Dizzy Gillespie) / arr: Charli Persip
All titles on:      Bethlehem LP 12": BCP 6046 — Charles Persip And The Jazz Statesmen   
     Bethlehem CD: R2 79850 — Charles Persip And The Jazz Statesmen   (2000)

Marcus Belgrave (t) on b; Freddie Hubbard (t) on a, c-e.

Engineer: Peter Ind

e. is subtitled A Suite In Six Movements.

Date: October 10 & 13, 1980
Location: JAC Studios, New York City
Label: Stash

Charli Persip (ldr), Bob Porcelli, Monty Waters (as), Orpheus Gaitanopoulos, Bill Saxton (ts), Gary Smulyan (bar), Chris Albert, Jim Bossy, Frank Gordon, Gerry Lafurn, Robert Rutledge, Jack Walrath (t), Gerard Carelli, Dick Griffin, Charles Stephens (tb), Bob Stewart (tu), Garry Dial (p), Cameron Brown (b, eb), Charli Persip (d)

a. a-01    Manteca - 6:55  (Dizzy Gillespie, Chano Pozo, Walter 'Gil' Fuller) / arr: Slide Hampton
b. a-02    On The Road - 4:41  (Jack Walrath) / arr: Jack Walrath
c. a-03    Once In A While - 6:54  (Michael Edwards, Bud Green) / arr: Frank Foster
d. b-01    Meantime - 7:17  (Gary Anderson) / arr: Gary Anderson
e. b-02    King Duke - 5:20  (Jack Walrath) / arr: Jack Walrath
f. b-03    Jupiter - 7:29  (Frank Gordon) / arr: Frank Gordon
All titles on:      Stash LP 12": ST 209 — Superband   (1981)
     Natasha Imports CD: NI 4028 — Charli Persip & Superband   

Chris Albert (t) on c.

Date: September 12 & 13, 1984
Location: New York City
Label: Soul Note

Charli Persip (ldr), Monty Waters, Bobby Watson (as), Orpheus Gaitanopoulos, Al Givens, Bill Saxton (ts), Fred Houn (bar), Eddie Allen, Frank Gordon, Ambrose Jackson, Ron Tooley, Jack Walrath (t), Clarence Banks, Jason Forsythe, Dave Graf (tb), Carl Kleinsteuber (btb), Richard Clements (p), Anthony Cox (b), Charli Persip (d), Eli Fountain (per)

a. a-01    Fuller Love [aka In Case You Missed It] - 5:44  (Bobby Watson)
b. a-02    Marching Out And Dancing In - 7:42  (Jack Walrath)
c. a-03    'Round Midnight - 7:36  (Thelonious Monk, Cootie Williams, Bernie Hanighen)
d. b-01    Plutonian Images - 6:38  (Frank Gordon)
e. b-02    Willow, Weep For Me - 8:03  (Ann Ronell)
f. b-03    Killer Joe - 7:20  (Benny Golson)
All titles on:      Soul Note LP 12": 121 079-1 — In Case You Missed It   
     Soul Note CD: 121 079-2 — In Case You Missed It   

Fuller Love listed as "In Case You Missed It"

Date: November 19 & 25, 1987
Location: Sound Ideas, New York City
Label: Soul Note

Charli Persip (ldr), Sayyd Abdul Al-Khabyyr, Sue Terry (f, as), Orpheus Gaitanopoulos, Craig Rivers (f, ts), Pablo Calogero (bar), Tony Barrero, Ambrose Jackson, Genghis Nor, Jack Walrath (t), Jason Forsythe, Matt Haviland, Herb Hubel (tb), Nathan Durham (btb), Marcus Rojas (tu), Darrel Grant (p), Melissa Slocum (b), Charli Persip (d), Eli Fountain (per)

a. a-01    Revenge Of The Fat People - 5:57  (Jack Walrath) / arr: Jack Walrath
b. a-02    Strange Fruit  (Abel Meeropol [aka Lewis Allan]) / arr: Sue Terry
c. a-02    Crazy He Calls Me  (Carl Sigman, Sidney Keith 'Bob' Russell) / arr: Sue Terry
d. a-02    Good Morning Heartache - 8:14  (Ervin Drake, Dan Fisher, Irene Higginbotham) / arr: Sue Terry
e. a-03    Vital Seconds - 7:28  (Orpheus Gaitanopoulos) / arr: Orpheus Gaitanopoulos
f. b-01    Thruway Traffic - 9:50  (Frank Foster) / arr: Frank Foster
g. b-02    Desert Ship - 7:11  (Orpheus Gaitanopoulos) / arr: Orpheus Gaitanopoulos
h. b-03    Inner Urge - 9:25  (Joe Henderson) / arr: Matt Haviland
All titles on:      Soul Note LP 12": 121 179-1 — No Dummies Allowed   (1989)
     Soul Note CD: 121 179-2 — No Dummies Allowed   (1989)

b, c, d performed as medley.