Ron McCroby Leader Entry
by Michael Fitzgerald

Generated on Sun, Oct 02, 2011

Date: December 1982
Location: Coast Recorders, San Francisco, CA
Label: Concord

Ron McCroby (ldr), Sam Most (f), Ron McCroby (cl, w), Bill Mays (p, ep), Bob Magnusson (b), Jeff Hamilton (d)

a. a-01    Joy Spring - 4:40  (Clifford Brown)
b. a-02    If You Could See Me Now - 6:08  (Tadd Dameron, Carl Sigman)
c. a-03    Line For Lyons - 5:02  (Gerry Mulligan)
d. a-04    Whistle While You Work - 3:13  (Frank E. Churchill, Larry Morey)
e. b-01    Daahoud - 4:46  (Clifford Brown)
f. b-02    Everything Happens To Me - 3:35  (Matt Dennis, Tom Adair)
g. b-03    Boplicity - 4:44  (Miles Davis, Gil Evans)
h. b-04    Along Came Betty - 5:52  (Benny Golson)
All titles on:      Concord LP 12": CJ 208 — Ron McCroby Plays Puccolo   (1983)

Sam Most (f) on a, c-e, g-h; Ron McCroby (cl) on c; (w) on a-b, d-h; Bill Mays (p) on a-e, g; (ep) on a, f-h; Bob Magnusson (b) on a-e, g-h; Jeff Hamilton (d) on a-e, g-h.

Date: June 1984
Location: Classic Sound Studio, New York City
Label: Concord

Ron McCroby (ldr), Ron McCroby (cl, w), Bill Mays (p, ep), Steve LaSpina (b), Akira Tana (d, per)

a. a-01    Four Brothers - 2:44  (Jimmy Giuffre)
b. a-02    Theme From "M*A*S*H" [aka Suicide Is Painless] - 3:52  (Johnny Mandel, Mike Altman)
c. a-03    Cherokee - 5:34  (Ray Noble)
d. a-04    My Foolish Heart - 5:43  (Victor Young, Ned Washington)
e. b-01    Blue Rondo A La Turk - 5:45  (Dave Brubeck)
f. b-02    I Remember Clifford - 5:24  (Benny Golson)
g. b-03    Mayberry R.F.D. - 4:32  (Earle Hagen, Herbert Spencer)
h. b-04    Take Five - 4:40  (Paul Desmond)
All titles on:      Concord LP 12": CJ 257 — "The Other Whistler"   (1984)

Ron McCroby (cl) on h; Bill Mays (p) on a, c-h; (ep) on b, g; Akira Tana (per) on b.

McCroby overdubbed a second whistling part on e. and g.

Date: May 1985
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Label: Proarte

Ron McCroby (ldr), Pamela Watson (pic, f, af), Judith Larsen (f, p, hps), Christopher Philpotts (ob, enh, rec, g), Richard Jensen (per), Susan Marshall-Peterson (vc), Ron McCroby (w)

a.     The Entertainer  (Scott Joplin)
b.     Carnival Of Venice  (Traditional)
c.     Canon In D  (Johann Pachelbel)
d.     Send In The Clowns  (Stephen Sondheim)
e.     Water Music: Hornpipe  (G. F. Handel)
f.     Rondo Alla Turca  (W. A. Mozart)
g.     Pavane Pour Une Infante Defunte  (Maurice Ravel)
h.     Quintet For Guitar And Strings: Menuett  (Luigi Boccherini)
i.     Summertime  (George Gershwin, Dubose Heyward)
j.     Sonata In F  (Georg Philipp Telemann)
All titles on:      Proarte CD: PAD 258 — Breezin' The Classics   

Ensemble known as the Arion Consort.

Date: February 24 & 25, 2001
Location: Studio Van Schuppen, Veenendaal, Netherlands
Label: Timeless

Ron McCroby (ldr), Berend van den Berg (p), Hans Mantel (b), Wim Kegel (d), Ron McCroby (w)

a. 01    When You Wish Upon A Star - 5:27  (Leigh Harline, Ned Washington)
b. 02    Sweet Georgia Brown - 4:53  (Ben Bernie, Kenneth Casey, Maceo Pinkard)
c. 03    Body And Soul - 10:49  (Johnny Green, Edward Heyman, Robert Sour, Frank Eyton)
d. 04    Whistle While You Work - 4:32  (Frank E. Churchill, Larry Morey)
e. 05    The Shadow Of Your Smile - 5:51  (Johnny Mandel, Paul Francis Webster)
f. 06    Au Privave - 3:51  (Charlie Parker)
g. 07    All Blues - 6:46  (Miles Davis)
h. 08    One Note Samba [aka Samba De Uma Nota Só] - 3:35  (Antonio Carlos Jobim, Newton Mendonça)
i. 09    Joy Spring - 4:33  (Clifford Brown)
j. 10    A Child Is Born - 4:38  (Thad Jones, Alec Wilder)
k. 11    Scrapple From The Apple - 5:00  (Charlie Parker)
l. 12    Sonata In F - 2:08  (Georg Philipp Telemann)
All titles on:      Timeless CD: CD SJP 456 — TwoLips From Holland